Direct access control

From HEWIKI
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

He server.png Documentation on this page is intended for customers of HeroEngine managing their own server(s).

direct_access_control is the client application for assigning HeroEngine user permissions. It has the word "direct" in the name because it makes a direct connection to the Oracle database. It is meant to only be used by administrators that have access to the internal network.

Starting

HeroEngine servers have direct_access_control pre-installed with a shortcut on the desktop.

At launch, a login form is presented. The Account must be a user name that exists in the permission system with the DATABASE-ADMIN role. The other fields are the standard Oracle login information.

Using

Dac main.PNG

After successful login, a window appears with 5 tabs. The first 3 (Systems, Features, and Functions) are only used for defining what permissions exist. The last 2 (Roles and Users) are used for editing a user's permission with HeroEngine. This is done by assigning or removing existing roles from a user.

Much of the information is presented in grids which also serve as pick lists for opening further dialogs. To open a dialog for the current row, double click the header square on the left edge.

Some lists have a extra row at the bottom which can be used to add new items. Be sure to click the Apply button at the bottom of the form to submit those changes to the database.

User Edit Dialog

User edit.PNG

This shows a list of all of the roles in the system with checkboxes indicating which are assigned to this user. The CanAdmin column of checkboxes indicates if the user has permission to assign this permission to other users.

Role Edit Dialog

Role edit.PNG

The top portion of this dialog lists all of the users that have had this role. The currently active ones either have null STOP_DATE.

The bottom portion of this dialog lists all of the possible permissions with checkboxes for indicating which are assigned to this role.

Adding a New User

On the main form, switch to the User tab and enter the user's account name. This will bring up a user edit dialog for them. You can then go through the list of roles and assign them to the user. Then click OK and that should do it.

Removing Permissions for a User

On the main form, switch to the User tab and enter the user's account name. This will bring up a user edit dialog for them. Uncheck the roles assigned that are to be removed. Then click OK and that should do it.

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
Toolbox